Black Ops 2 Multiplayer How To: Open your NAT type for Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 for less laggy games

Discussion in 'Call of Duty: Black Ops 2' started by DJ piNoy, Nov 24, 2012.

  1.  
    bloodysanta

    bloodysanta Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Credit:
    FBux154.00
  2.  
    Ranger_55

    Ranger_55 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Credit:
    FBux0.00
    thanks for the help
     
  3.  
    Rokon2

    Rokon2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    56
    Credit:
    FBux127.00
    Funny how I need to port forward in order to get a less laggy game. That's hilarious. Didn't realize I was playing on a PC.

    No but yeah, real talk, Treyarch should like, stop shitting on their servers. We have bathrooms for that.
     
  4.  
    Captain Dyno

    Captain Dyno New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Credit:
    FBux221.00
    In a perfect world, wouldn't our games just...you know... work? Without us having to jump through hoops and fix something that isn't even WRONG to begin with?
     
  5.  
    Maverick8509

    Maverick8509 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Credit:
    FBux0.00
  6.  
    Rokon2

    Rokon2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    56
    Credit:
    FBux127.00
    Best way to defeat lag: Downloading something. You force everyone else to lag compensate and you win.
     
  7.  
    Ryan233

    Ryan233 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Credit:
    FBux0.00
    Keep in mind that I work has a network manager within Cisco, basically I have tried opening ports and also tried putting my ps3 in a DMZ. I but nothing works. I have a 60mb connection, bops2 is still moderate

    Any help would be amazing

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
     
  8.  
    Msuspartan14595

    Msuspartan14595 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Credit:
    FBux0.00
    I have always had issues with my NAT type, it is moderate but i rarely have any connection problems. whenever i try and fix it it never works so i have just decided to not bother it any mre
     
  9.  
    DJ piNoy

    DJ piNoy Forum God

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3,620
    Likes Received:
    177
    Credit:
    FBux329.42
    After opening ports/hosting DMZ, try testing your Xbox Live connection/w.e PS3 does to test connection to PSN. That will usually help.
     
  10.  
    BOOSTkv87

    BOOSTkv87 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    25
    Credit:
    FBux0.00
    Hey everyone. I kind of have the opposite problem. The game makes me host WAY to often. My NAT type is open. But it seems like whenever I am host the majority of the other players in the room have really bad lag. And I have even gotten accused of lag switching. I tried explaining to these people that I was host. But they didn't believe me. Haha. Is there any way NOT to be host? Is there a setting or something I could do? Btw, when I am host I experience almost no lag at all, but I feel bad for everyone else in the room. So I usually back out next game. Maybe I'm to nice.....
     
  11.  
    DJ piNoy

    DJ piNoy Forum God

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3,620
    Likes Received:
    177
    Credit:
    FBux329.42
    That's just matchmaking giving you people who are way far away from you in your server. Change your search setting to Normal or Best to get more people around your area. I can usually get a full lobby as 4 bar when I'm hosting if they are from the west coast, but if they're further like east coast, they sometimes get a 2-4 bar depending on their internet.
     
  12.  
    BOOSTkv87

    BOOSTkv87 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    25
    Credit:
    FBux0.00
    ^^ that may explain it. I live on the east coast and I usually play later at night. So maybe I'm getting matched with people on the west coast. My search settings were on Best but I recently changed them to Normal to maybe get an improvement. But i guess I'll just roll with the punches and see what happens. Lol. Thanks!
     
  13.  
    iGBx

    iGBx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    9
    Credit:
    FBux156.00
    My NAT has been open since day one and it still lags .
     
  14.  
    [TSS]MrGr3yBush

    [TSS]MrGr3yBush New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Credit:
    FBux142.00
    Here is a tip for linksys users:

    Some of the routers made by Cisco, like the EXXX series, almost always stick you on moderate or strict no matter what you do. I spent days reading hundreds of threads then I found a cocktail that has worked for me and almost a dozen other people without fail that I know:

    1) Go DYNAMIC and forward your ports, you can find that information all over the place. This almost never works out with static ip's.

    2) Disable the router firewall. It is largely useless anyway.

    3) Reboot the router and the xbox. Hey look, your still not open! Proceed.

    4) Go into the router settings and find the NAT setting. Change it to disabled and reboot the router. This will kill your consoles ability to access the network. Allow it to fail the test and then shut it off.

    5) Reboot the router, then go back in and turn NAT back to enabled. Fire up the xbox and guess what, your NAT is now open and won't bother you ever again. Disabling the NAT forces the router to re-establish it's relationship with the console.
     
  15.  
    Ral x infect

    Ral x infect New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Credit:
    FBux0.00
    Thanks for the tip helped me alot
     
  16.  
    DeCePtEgRa

    DeCePtEgRa New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    15
    Credit:
    FBux70.00
    Are you still whining about lag hey dumb shits on any given day/night there is about half a million players on at one time give them a break.

    If you leave the lobby and go to a different one it usually is fine or you can do the nerd thing explained above.

    Faulking cry baby's
     
  17.  
    ImTheLastLegacy

    ImTheLastLegacy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Credit:
    FBux0.00
    Does opening your NAT really make it less laggy? Or is it just changing who you can connect to?
     
  18.  
    XxHKxX_GCountry

    XxHKxX_GCountry New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Credit:
    FBux0.00
    Great post I will be doing this ASAP
     
  19.  
    Call of duty player

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    29
    Credit:
    - FBux4.00
    Great advise..
    I have done all this as my NAT was on strict, now it open. Im having great games now.
    Just to let people know ..
    When mine was on strict I was only having trouble in team deathmatch,
    all other lobby games were fine..
    But I play team deathmatch the most.

    Also I have a question. Now that the NAT it open on BO2, if I was to go play MW3, BO1, Battlefield or even medal of honor.. will the IP address change or mess with the BO2 IP's
    as I really only Play BO2 mostly now ?

    Cheers
     
  20.  
    DJ piNoy

    DJ piNoy Forum God

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3,620
    Likes Received:
    177
    Credit:
    FBux329.42
    Nope. It will not change and your NAT type for any other online multiplayer is going to be Open.
     

Share This Page